Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search


Home > Large Equipments > Low turbulence wind tunnel

Low turbulence wind tunnel

The Lespinard wind tunnel, named after its founder, is one of the large facilities of LEGI lab. It is used to study turbulent flows (single and two phase), and is used by PhD students, permanent staff and many students from Grenoble Alpes University for experimental projects on the study of turbulence.

The wind tunnel is a closed circuit (see figure). Its overall dimensions are 5 meters high, 16 meters long and 2.5 meters wide. The test section is 4 meters long and has a square section (0.75x0.75 m²). The operation of two motors rotating at the same speed with opposite directions allows both to avoid turbulence on a large scale (laminar case) and the insertion of a grid (turbulent case).

Speeds can reach up to 45 m/s in the test section. The stability of the flow is assured to 0.2%. A plenum equipped with fine grids, followed by a convergent section reduces the residual turbulent intensity to a very low level (<0.1%, for a completely empty test section). The wind tunnel, originally built to investigate the laminar-turbulent transition, is used by several teams for various studies, including:

  • The diffusion of a passive/active scalar in grid turbulence.
  • The measure of vorticity on developed turbulence via acoustic techniques.
  • Preferential concentration of inertial particles on a turbulent flow.
  • The settling velocity of inertial particles on a turbulent flow.
  • Different aspects of fundamental turbulence: grid turbulence, turbulent wakes, boundary layers, etc.

Instruments, sensors and the 3D traverse system

Velocity can be measured through a pitot tube installed in the convergent section using a micromanometer. A hot-wire anemometry system (single and/or multiple wire) can also be used. Several imaging techniques are also possible: high-speed imaging of water droplets on a turbulent flow, Particle Imaging Velocimetry (PIV) and Phase Doppler Interferometry (PDI), among others. The test section of the wind tunnel is protected by a leather cabin that allows us to use the laser safely.

A 3D system displacing the probes within the whole section (hot wire, sonic or cup anemometers...) is installed in the test section. It has recently been calibrated to display the actual position of the probes on all three axes.

The active grid

The active grid is installed upstream, at the beginning of the test section. It is composed by 16 axes (8 horizontal and 8 vertical, see image). Each one of them is connected to a motor and can be controlled independently. A software (developed internally using LabVIEW) allows to control the velocity and direction of each motor. The active grid therefore allows to generate bespoke turbulence (homogeneous isotropic turbulence, boundary layers, shear profiles...).

JPEG - 113.8 kb

The wind tunnel has been used for research and teaching projects since it was built in 1965. It has recently been refurbished (change of the motors in 2013, replacement of the test section in 2015 for a transparent one, addition of a remote-control mode to drive both engines at the same time with an external power supply in 2017). Future developments for this large facility include: speed PID control by using the analog output of the micromanometer, control of the three-dimensional displacement system by a LabVIEW software.

Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher


Accueil > Grands équipements > La soufflerie à bas niveau de turbulence

La soufflerie à bas niveau de turbulence

La soufflerie Lespinard, du nom de son fondateur, est l’un des grands équipements du LEGI. Elle est utilisée pour étudier les écoulements turbulents (mono et diphasiques), accueille des personnels en thèse, permanents et de nombreux étudiants de l’Université Grenoble Alpes pour des travaux pratiques sur l’étude de la turbulence.

La soufflerie est un circuit fermé. Ses dimensions globales sont de 5 mètres de haut, 16 mètres de long et 2.5 mètres de large. La veine d’essais mesure 4 mètres de long. Sa section est carrée (0.75x0.75 m²). Le pilotage de deux moteurs tournant à la même vitesse avec des sens de rotation inversés permet à la fois d’éviter la turbulence à grande échelle (cas laminaire) et l’insertion d’une grille (cas turbulent).

Les vitesses peuvent atteindre 45 m/s dans la veine d’essai. La stabilité de l’écoulement est assurée à 0.2% près. Une chambre de tranquillisation équipée de grilles fines, suivie d’un convergent permet de réduire l’intensité turbulente résiduelle à un niveau très bas (< 0.1%). La soufflerie, construite à l’origine pour faire des recherches sur la transition laminaire-turbulent, est utilisée par plusieurs équipes pour diverses études, dont :

  • La diffusion d’un scalaire passif / actif en turbulence de grille.
  • La mesure de vorticité en turbulence développée dans le contexte de l’autosimilarité incomplète.
  • La concentration préférentielle des particules inertielles dans un écoulement turbulent.
  • La vitesse de chute des gouttelettes d’eau dans un écoulement turbulent.
  • Différents aspects de la turbulence fondamentale : turbulence de grille, sillage turbulent, la couche limite, etc.

L’instrumentation associée et le système tridimensionnel de déplacement des sondes

La vitesse peut être mesurée grâce à un tube de pitot installé dans le convergent et un micromanomètre. Nous utilisons également un système d’anémométrie à fil chaud avec un ou plusieurs fils. Des mesures pour visualiser la turbulence sont également utilisées : capture d’image à haute vitesse avec injection de gouttelettes (particules inertielles). Des mesures laser : Particle Imaging Velocimetry (PIV), Phase Doppler Interferometry (PDI) sont réalisées. La zone de la soufflerie est protégée des rayonnements laser par l’installation d’une cabine en cuir qui nous permet d’utiliser le laser en toute sécurité.

Un système 3D de déplacement des sondes (fil chaud, anémomètres soniques ou à coupelles...) est installé dans la veine d’essai. Il a récemment été calibré pour afficher la position réelle des sondes sur les trois axes.

La grille active

La grille active peut être insérée entre le convergent et la veine d’essai. Elle est constituée de 16 axes (8 horizontaux et 8 verticaux). Chaque axe est piloté de façon indépendante par un variateur relié à un moteur. Ces moteurs permettent de piloter la vitesse et la direction des lames grâce à une interface utilisateur multi langage (anglais, français, espagnol) développé sous LabVIEW au laboratoire.

JPEG - 113.8 ko

La soufflerie est utilisée pour des projets de recherche et d’enseignement depuis sa construction en 1965. Elle a récemment été modifiée (changement des deux turbines contra rotatives en 2013, remplacement de la veine d’essai en 2015, rajout d’un mode de fonctionnement local pour piloter les deux moteurs en même temps par une alimentation externe en 2017). De nouvelles perspectives s’offrent à nous et sont en cours de développement pour l’instrumentation de ce grand équipement : régulation PID de la vitesse par l’utilisation de la sortie analogique du micromanomètre, pilotage du système de déplacement tridimensionnel par le logiciel LabVIEW.