Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search


Home > Large Equipments > The Coriolis rotating platform

Presentation

- Technical information

Responsibility

- Scientific manager Joël Sommeria  , Eletta Negretti
- Technical manager Samuel Viboud  , Thomas Valran

Generality

The Coriolis platform, 13 m in diameter, is the largest rotating platform in the world dedicated to fluid dynamics. Its main activity is the experimental modeling of geophysical flows, taking into account the rotation of the Earth, in the presence or not of density stratification or topography. The large size provides access to the inertial regimes that characterize ocean dynamics, with little influence of viscosity and centrifugal force. Laboratory experiments can thus provide support to model ocean dynamics and develop their physical parameterizations.

The platform has been recently rebuilt, achieved in 2014, on the model of the old platform build in 1960, with many improvements,
- information about the new design
- information about the construction process.
- history of the first Coriolis platform.

The measuring equipment includes ultrasonic velocity meters, profilers for salinity and temperature. Measures are increasingly focused on digital image processing. Concentration fields are obtained by laser fluorescence (LIF), and velocity fields by image correlation (PIV). These techniques allow three-dimensional measurements in volume by a scanning system of the laser plane.

Platform and its staff are related to the team MEIGE, ’ M odélisation, Expériences, Instrumentation for Géophysique and Environment ’. The installation, however, intended to host researchers from outside the national and international level. It is well connected to both ’Integrated Infrastructure Initiatives’ European HYDRALAB on water and the environment EUHIT on turbulence. Researchers from European institutions can get funding for projects on this infrastructure: please contact Joel Sommeria for further information.

A small turntable for teaching and demonstration is also available.

The Coriolis platform
The Coriolis platform
Photothèque CNRS M. Fresillon


A new configuration of annular channel will allow researchers to study the transport and morphodynamics of sediment in a ’river’ in an endless configuration, without end effects.

configuration of annular channel with rotating entrainment disks

Some photographs of reconstruction:

Chantier de construction le 20/10/2012
Support for the new rotating platform and storage tanks
Peripheral support rail, fabrication process
Central shaft
view of the building, office section
Basement of the new rotating platform and storage tanks, Feb. 2013

Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels

Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher





Accueil > Grands équipements > La plateforme tournante Coriolis

Présentation

- Information technique

Responsabilité

- Scientifique : Joël Sommeria
- Technique : Samuel Viboud

Généralité

La plateforme Coriolis, 13 m de diamètre, est la plus grande plateforme tournante au monde dédiée à la mécanique des fluides. Son activité principale est la modélisation expérimentale des écoulements géophysiques, avec prise en compte de la rotation de la Terre, en présence ou non de stratification en densité ou de topographie. Les grandes dimensions permettent d’approcher les régimes inertiels qui caractérisent la dynamique océanique, avec une faible influence de la viscosité et de la force centrifuge. Les expériences de laboratoire permettent ainsi de tester les modèles de dynamique océanique et de développer leurs paramétrisations physiques.

La plate-forme a été reconstruite, avec achèvement en 2014, sur le modèle de l’ancienne plate-forme construite en 1960, avec des performances améliorées.
- information sur le projet de reconstruction
- information sur le déroulement de la reconstruction.
- histoire de l’ancienne plate-forme.

Le matériel de mesure comporte des vélocimètres à ultra-sons, des profileurs de salinité et température. Les mesures sont de plus en plus axées sur le traitement numérique d’images. Les champs de concentration sont ainsi obtenus par fluorescence laser (LIF), et les champs de vitesse par corrélation d’images (PIV). Ces techniques permettent des mesures tridimensionnelles en volume par un système de balayage de plan laser.

La plateforme et son personnel sont liés à l’équipe MEIGE, Modélisation, Expériences et Instrumentation pour la Géophysique et l’Environnement. L’installation a cependant vocation à l’accueil de chercheurs extérieurs au niveau national et international. Elle est ainsi rattachée à deux ’Integrated Infrastructure Initiatives’ Européennes, Hydralab sur l’eau et l’environnement et EUHIT sur la turbulence. Des chercheurs d’institutions Européennes peuvent se faire financer des projets de recherche sur cette installation : contacter Joël Sommeria pour plus d’informations.

Une petite plaque tournante a été aussi installée pour l’enseignement et les démonstrations.

The Coriolis platform
The Coriolis platform
Photothèque CNRS M. Fresillon


Une nouvelle configuration de canal annulaire est prévue pour étudier le transport et la morphodynamique sédimentaire dans une ’rivière’ sans effet d’entrée.

configuration de canal annulaire avec entrainement par disques en rotation

Quelques photographies prises lors de la reconstruction :

Chantier de construction le 20/10/2012
Emplacement de la plate-forme tournante et les cuves de stockage
Rail periphérique en cours de fabrication
Axe central
Vue du batiment, partie bureau
Emplacement de la plate-forme tournante et les cuves de stockage, fév 2013