Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search


Home > Teams > MOST team: Turbulence Modelling and Simulation > Research activity

Axe 1 - Axis 1 - Development of a High Order Framework for finite volume methods on unstructured grids

Postdoctoral works of Manuel Bernard

Financial support : PSPC INNOV’HYDRO

Collaboration : G. Lartigue and V. Moureau (CORIA, Rouen)

The aim of this work is to improve the accuracy of numerical schemes on unstructured meshes in finite volume method context. Indeed, discretization errors generally increase while grid quality get worse, i.e. while shape of control volumes disgress from regular body. Thus, use of high order methods permits either to lower the error level for a given mesh, or to use coarser mesh for a given level of error. This method is based on three ingredients :

  • First, as the data available in finite volume method is constant over each control volume, it is necessary to deconvolute it in order to obtain its corresponding nodal value.
  • Once the accurate nodal values of the data and its successive derivatives are known, it is possible to perform Tayor series expansions anywhere in the domain.
  • Finally, flux are integrated accurately over each control volumes surface.

The main advantage of this method compared to other high order methods lies is the fact that, up to 3rd order implementation, the stencil remains compact (only direct neighbours are used). This is particularly interesting in a high performance computing context as it ensures the good behaviour of parallel simulation based on domain decomposition technique.

This method can be used in various applications, for exemple : mesh-to-mesh interpolation, curvature computation for level-set methods, convective and diffusive flux integration. Figure 1 represents the spatial distribution of a scalar bump after one convection period (one turnover through periodic domain) using a constant and uniform flow field. We observe that, by using the high order framework developed during this study, the accuracy of the signal transported is improved : iso-contours are regular and scalar is bounded between 0 and 1.

Publications

Peer-reviewed Publications

2020
Bernard, M., Lartigue, G., Balarac, G., Moureau, V., & Puigt, G. (2020). A framework to perform high-order deconvolution for finite-volume method on simplicial meshes. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 92(11), 1551–1583.

Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher


Accueil > Équipes > Équipe MOST : MOdélisation et Simulation de la Turbulence > Travaux de recherches

Axe 1 - Développement de schémas d’ordre élevé pour les méthodes volumes finis sur maillages non-structurés

Travaux post-doctoraux de Manuel Bernard

Financement : PSPC INNOV’HYDRO

Collaboration : G. Lartigue et V. Moureau (CORIA, Rouen)

L’objectif de ces travaux est d’améliorer la précision des calculs réalisés par méthode volumes finis sur maillages non-structurés. En effet, les erreurs de discretisation augmentent lorsque la qualité des maillages se dégrade, c’est à dire lorsque la forme des volumes de contrôle est de moins en moins régulière. Ainsi, l’utilisation de méthodes d’ordre élevé permet soit de réduire le niveau d’erreur pour un même maillage, soit d’utiliser un maillage plus grossier pour un niveau d’erreur fixé.
Cette méthode repose sur trois principes :

  • Tout d’abord, étant donné que les grandeurs obtenues par méthode volumes finis sont constantes par volume de contrôle, il est nécessaire de les déconvoluer pour obtenir les valeurs nodales correspondantes.
  • Une fois que les valeurs nodales d’une quantité et de ses dériviées successives sont connues avec suffisament de précision, il est possible de réaliser des développements en série de Taylor en tout point du domaine.
  • Enfin, les flux sont intégrés de façon précise sur chacune des faces des volumes de contrôle.

Un des avantages de cette méthode par rapport à d’autres méthodes d’ordre élevé réside dans le fait que, jusqu’à une implémentation d’ordre 3, le stencil reste compact (seuls les voisins directs sont utilisés). Cette caractéristique est particulièrement intéressante dans un contexte de calcul haute performance puisqu’il assure un bon comportement des calculs parallélisés par méthode de décomposition de domaine.

Les applications de cette méthode sont multiples, par exemple : interpolation entre maillages, calcul de courbure pour les méthodes Level-Set, intégration des flux convectifs et diffusifs. La figure représente la distribution spatiale d’une tâche scalaire après avoir été transportée durant une période (un tour de domaine périodique) par un champ de vitesse uniforme et constant. On observe qu’avec les méthodes d’ordre élevé développées dans cette étude, le signal est transporté plus fidèlement : les iso-contours sont réguliers et le scalaire borné entre 0 et 1.

Publications

Peer-reviewed Publications

2020
Bernard, M., Lartigue, G., Balarac, G., Moureau, V., & Puigt, G. (2020). A framework to perform high-order deconvolution for finite-volume method on simplicial meshes. International Journal for Numerical Methods in Fluids, 92(11), 1551–1583.