Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels




Supervisory authorities

CNRS

Our partners

Search


Home > News > Events > Events 2016

Operation 31 : The hydrodynamic tunnel of LEGI is currently under renovation

Authors: Jean-Pierre Franc

One of the two test sections of the hydrodynamic tunnel of LEGI is being renovated. This operation is part of the Hydro’like chair sponsored by GE (Alstom Hydro Grenoble). The second test section was renovated in 2004 in order to become a platform for testing marine turbines.

This new test section was designed in order to conduct various types of experimental investigations on cavitation. The first tests that will be carried out very soon will allow us to quantify the risk of damage due to cavitation on hydrofoils. This research work that will be conducted by Jean-Bastien Carrat, PhD student at LEGI, aims at investigating the cavitation erosion phenomenon that may damage the blades of a Francis turbine.

This renovation work is led by the design and instrumentation teams of LEGI, with the assistance of YLec Consultants. It is also part of a DGA project that aims at developing new systems capable of seeding large hydrodynamic facilities with microbubbles used either as ‘clean’ particles for laser measurements (LDV and PIV) or cavitation nuclei.

Laboratoire des Écoulements Géophysiques et Industriels

Nos tutelles

CNRS

Nos partenaires

Rechercher





Accueil > Actualités > Événements > Événements 2016

Opération 31 : Le tunnel hydrodynamique du LEGI fait peau neuve

Auteurs : Jean-Pierre Franc

L’une des deux veines d’essais du tunnel hydrodynamique du LEGI est en cours de rénovation. Cette opération s’inscrit dans le cadre de la chaire Hydro’like financée par GE (Alstom Hydro Grenoble). La seconde veine d’essais avait déjà été rénovée en 2004 pour accueillir une plateforme d’essais d’hydroliennes.

La rénovation en cours vise à doter le LEGI d’un moyen d’essais performant permettant de réaliser toutes sortes d’expériences de cavitation. Les premiers essais qui seront réalisés tout prochainement permettront de quantifier le risque d’endommagement d’un hydrofoil par la cavitation. Ces investigations qui seront menées dans le cadre de la thèse de Jean-Bastien Carrat visent à caractériser les phénomènes d’érosion par cavitation qui peuvent affecter les aubages d’une turbine Francis.

Cette rénovation est pilotée par le bureau d’études et le service instrumentation du LEGI, avec le conseil de YLec Consultants. Elle s’inscrit également dans le cadre d’un projet DGA visant à développer des systèmes d’ensemencement des tunnels hydrodynamiques en microbulles servant de traceurs pour les mesures laser LDV et PIV et de germes pour les essais de cavitation.